top of page
  • deanbn0208

Growth

I used to think that you shouldn’t go to college unless you have a set career path, know exactly what field you want to go into, and are passionate about learning and education. I also recognize that not every person has the opportunity or resources to enroll in college, and higher education isn’t a good fit for some. However, as I embark on my last semester at UW-Eau Claire, I’ve been reflecting on the growth that has taken place for me over the past 3 years, and following this reflection I’ve concluded that everyone should go to college.


                Now, hear me out. Many of my experiences here were based on educational and career goals and pertained solely to those. I’ve completed countless papers, assignments, and projects. I’ve attended countless lectures. I’ve begun data collection on my first research project and am going to complete the project before graduation. I’ve participated in group projects, have been involved in the McNair research and graduate school program, and have attended a McNair research conference in Washington D.C. All these experiences have been life-changing in various ways, but the real change happened in myself.

                Through my class assignments, lectures, and projects, I have learned how to manage my time effectively and have increased my organization skills. Some professors are lenient on deadlines, but many are not, and my ability to manage my time dictated my grades in my classes. Time management and organization skills are some of the most important skills to have in the workforce, and in managing domestic life. This will enable me to succeed in both my career goals and my desire to have a healthy, happy family. I’ve learned how to communicate effectively in professional settings and how to network through my experiences in McNair, which will open new opportunities for me in the future. I’ve learned how to take on a leadership role through my experiences in group discussions and group projects, and how to be an effective leader by listening to ideas rather than telling others what to do based on my own perspective and ideas. I’ve also learned how to be an effective team member, and to allow others to emerge as leaders rather than taking the role myself out of fear that things won’t be done correctly. I’ve learned to listen to other perspectives to learn and apply new ideas, and to release control and allow others to shine. These skills are invaluable to me as I move forward as an adult, as a student, and as a future therapist.

                My perspective has significantly shifted since I began my education at UW-Eau Claire. I have learned that open-mindedness is the key to a happy, peaceful life. When we are stuck in our own mindsets and when we only use our experiences to dictate an instruction manual for being a human being, we miss out on the wide spectrum of the human experience. This leaves gaps in our understanding of the world, and limits our thinking in ways that omit opportunities to connect with others. Growing and learning are focal points in the human experience, and there are ways that college allows us to grow and learn as individuals that no other setting does. In college, your thinking and your behavior are constantly being challenged, revised, and challenged again. This has, undoubtedly, made me a better person.



3 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page