top of page
  • deanbn0208

Participants are People: the IRB Proposal Process


A Good Writer?

I thought I knew what academic research looked like, but in truth, I was completely unaware of the complexity of the process I had gotten myself into. I planned on submitting my research proposal for IRB approval in the beginning of June this summer, and here I stand on July 13th, still not ready to submit. We are close to submitting, but I was previously unaware of the specific language and repetitive, thorough planning that the IRB, the committee that guides research with human subjects, requires. Over the past month and a half, I have gone through countless “submission” and revision processes. I’ve always thought that I was an excellent writer, so each time I submitted revisions to my mentor, I was confident that she would not have any revision suggestions for me. However, each time I submitted, I received the document back with markups and suggestions throughout.


A Good Mentor

 I think that learning this type of straightforward writing was similar to learning APA style writing. Even if you are a good writer, there is specific language and ways of depicting methodology and procedures that those who are inexperienced in research with human subjects cannot know until someone who is experienced shows them. That is why I am incredibly grateful for the guidance of my mentor, Dr. Jennifer Muehlenkamp. The importance of choosing a good mentor, and switching mentors if it isn’t a good fit, was truly emphasized to me throughout this process. If I had not had a mentor who was so helpful, communicative, and involved with this process, my first research experience may have been a disaster. It certainly would have been much more stressful for me.


We have not even started data collection at this point, and it still has been a more complex process than I could have ever imagined. I cannot imagine how I would analyze my data with factor analysis without the help of a good, involved mentor. This mentor has even given me advice to help me through personal issues that were hindering my research, which shows that the commitment of a good mentor goes beyond helping with your research. A good mentor is invested in you as a student, as a person, and as a future contributor to your field. This means that they will go above and beyond to ensure that you are successful during this process so that you can be successful with further research and learn skills that can be applied to a career in the field.


The Importance of the Process

Despite the frustrations I’ve experienced and numerous revisions I’ve implemented throughout this process, I know that the IRB is the most important part of my research process. The IRB prevents breaches of confidentiality and privacy, ensures that human subjects are respected and protected, and ensures that the research done with human subjects is ethical. Because of the IRB, research with human subjects can be conducted in a completely ethical, respectful, and confidential manner, and people are more likely to participate if they know that there are complete and fair regulations in place to prevent a breach of confidentiality or any harm that may come to them through participating in research.

The IRB proposal process has made me aware, more than any of my other academic endeavors, that we do not stand alone in our success. We must turn to others, especially when we are out of our area of expertise and trust them to guide us in our success. We must listen to the counsel of those who have gone before us, and humble ourselves to understand that, though it may be easier to “get it done right yourself”, getting it done yourself sometimes is much more difficult and does not benefit you or your endeavors. It is important for us to rely on other people to fill the gaps in our knowledge and experience when we cannot fill them ourselves.



5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page